An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

315 AW Celebrates annual awards ceremony

  • Published
  • By Tech. Sgt. Della Creech
  • 315 Airlift Wing Public Affairs

The 315th Airlift Wing hosted its annual awards ceremony March 18, 2023, at Joint Base Charleston, South Carolina.

The ceremony highlighted the wing’s accomplishment of winning the Fourth Air Force Raincross Trophy and provided an opportunity to recognize 10 exceptional Airmen and one squadron for exceptional performance over the past year.

Col. John Robinson, 315 AW commander, said he couldn’t be prouder of everyone for their accomplishments and contributions as a team.

“I’m so proud to be a part of such a great wing with so many awesome Airmen giving their best,” he said. “The 2022 annual awards presented Saturday, along with winning the Raincross Trophy, are a testament of our greatness as a wing and the Citizen Airmen who freely serve.”

Leadership members from the 315 AW received the Raincross Trophy for the best wing in Fourth Air Force at the Raincross Trophy Dinner in Riverside, California March 1.

The Raincross award citation highlighted how the 315th maintained its high standards accumulating multiple team and individual awards at the Air Force and Air Force Reserve Command levels and made special mention of how the wing was handpicked for White House, NATO, United Nations and FEMA missions.

The pinnacle of the awards ceremony came when Robinson and Chief Master Sgt. Joe Gonzalez, 315 AW command chief, recognized the wing’s annual award winners in the respective categories below:

Airman of the Year: Senior Amn. Kourtney Sims, 315th Security Forces Squadron

Noncommissioned Officer of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Austin Dove, 317th Airlift Squadron

Senior NCO of the Year: Senior Master Sgt. Douglas Wattier, 317th AS

First Sergeant of the Year: Master Sgt. Jarrod Moody, 1st Sgt. 315th Operations Support Squadron

Company Grade Officer of the Year: Capt Dennis Conner, 701st AS

Field Grade Officer of the Year: Maj Timothy Birt, 315th Operations Support Squadron

Squadron of the Year: 315th Logistics Readiness Squadron

Civilian of the Year award winners are scheduled to be recognized later this month.

Gonzalez said the greatest moment for him was being part of an amazing celebration for our Airmen.

“This was definitely an amazing time to celebrate the great accomplishments of our Airmen,” he said. “The most memorable moments for me were seeing their reactions as they came up to be recognized and how their units congratulated them as they returned to their seats. It’s individuals like these that make the wing a success. I am a proud Palmetto Airmen!”

Please be sure to follow the 315 AW on Facebook and Instagram, and download the 315 Airlift Wing app for updates and news you can use.

315th AW Facebook 315th AW on  Instagram  315th AW on YouTube Dvids Behind the Wing Podcast